Penetanguishene met its boom era shortly before and after the turn of the century. The vast timber resources and convenient harbour brought such names as Beck, McGibbons, Gropp, Tessier and Firstbrook.
Today, Penetanguishene has a rich heritage of cultures and people. Recognized as having one of the most beautiful and protected harbours, it is a haven for boating enthusiasts. Come and explore our Gateway to the 30,000 Islands and let us show you small town hospitality.
93 Jury Drive, Penetanguishene
Discovery Harbour is Ontario's most picturesque marine heritage site and takes guests back to the 19th century days of Royal Navy sail on scenic Penetanguishene Bay. Visitors can chat with friendly interpreters aboard the magnificent replica schooners H.M.S.. Tecumseth and H.M.S. Bee. The site also features beautiful boardwalks, the waterside restaurant Captain Roberts' Table and historic grounds. Discovery Harbour is also home to the King's Wharf Theatre, which presents an outstanding lineup of Music and Laughter during the summer season.
King's Wharf Theatre
Discovery Harbour, 97 Jury Drive
It is hard to imagine a more ideal setting for summer theatre with the breathtaking natural beauty and historic significance of Discovery Harbour. This unique, rustic theatre sits on the shores of Georgian Bay with its 30,000 islands, flanked by majestic tall ships and historic buildings that represent the original 19th-century British naval and military base. At the King's Wharf Theatre, you will experience the same high standard of theatrical entertainment that theatregoers in our other locations across Ontario have come to expect.
Just steps from the theatre, is Captain Roberts' Table, a charming air-conditioned restaurant, offering outstanding friendly service in a comfortable atmosphere, with yet another spectacular view of the Bay.
Corner of Main Street and Brock Street, Penetanguishene
Located at the foot of Main Street at the entrance to Penetanguishene Rotary Park, this statue celebrates the tri-cultural heritage of Penetanguishene. The carved stone and copper statue depicts the legendary Huron Giant Kitchikewana marks the "Gateway to Georgian Bay". The statue includes a circle, which represents eternity, enclosure and perfect unity, and feathers symbolizing courage, peace and fidelity.
Penetanguishene 30,000 Island Cruises
Historic Port of Penetanguishene
Tel: (705) 549-7795/1-800-363-7447
When you're visiting our lovely and picturesque town, be sure to check out one or more of the boat cruises available. The Georgian Queen, formerly known as the H.M.C.S. Murray Stewart served as a warship in the Royal Canadian Navy during World War II.
The Georgian Queen has thrilled visitors for years offering a variety of cruises which vary in length from 1 ½, 2 ½ to 3 ½ hours in duration. Specialities cruises (lunch cruise, dinner cruise, jazz cruise, etc.) are also available. All of the cruises feature award winning live commentary presented by the ship's captain making this a unique cruise in Ontario.
The Georgian Queen is also an ideal venue for a private party, be it for a family function or a corporate event. Charter a boat and captain for an hour, 1/2 day or as long as you wish.
Town Entrance, Penetanguishene
Dedicated as the "Portals to Huronia" in the 1921 Tercentenary Celebrations, the Angels have become a symbol for Penetanguishene's dual heritage and an appropriate historical message to all visitors to the town. They were erected through the efforts of "Père" Athol Murray, parish priest at that time, and the family of Gerald Lahaie, to celebrate his entrance into the Jesuit order.
Penetanguishene Centennial Museum and Archives
13 Burke Street, Penetanguishene
The Penetanguishene Centennial Museum, built in 1875 by Carl Beck, was originally a general company store for workers in Beck's nearby sawmills. The rectangular two storey building still stands on its original site, and now houses an extensive collection of early industrial and pioneer materials.
Penetanguishene Rotary Park
From Main Street (near Brock) to Robert Street West, Penetanguishene
The Penetanguishene Rotary Park encompasses 36.4 hectares of waterfront land with both active and passive settings. Linked with 3.2 kilometres of lighted paved and limestone pathways this park provides the walker, roller blader, runner, cyclist and stroller with a picturesque view of Penetanguishene Bay. There is a children's playground, a sand beach, picnic shelter, washrooms, natural areas and the Town's Curling Club, along with ample parking to meet all your needs. The park is actively used and is home to the annual Fiddle and Step Dance Contest, Personal Watercraft Races, outdoor concerts and numerous other special events. It is part of the Trans-Canada Trail which forms a link to the township of Tiny and the Town of Midland.
.Penetanguishene Sports Hall of Fame
61 Maria Street, Penetanguishene
(705) 549-6957 ext.510
“The rich sporting history of Penetanguishene and its athletic heroes is proudly displayed a new and separate 1700 sq. ft. museum/display area at the Penetanguishene Memorial Arena.
Opened with much fanfare in October of 2007, the hall brings to life the sporting accomplishments of over 50 inductees: athletes, builders and teams that have been chosen from public nominations held every two years. Impressive displays and video tributes highlight a town’s rich sports heritage and heroes such as figure skater Brian Orser, Phil “Babe” Marchildon and Jean Thompson, to name a few. It highlights a small town’s sports heritage that is second to none!
The hall is manned by volunteers only and is open Fridays 3-9 p.m., and Saturdays and Sundays from 2-8 p.m. in the winter with summer hours to be announced. Check out the hall’s web site for information and updates.”
St. Ann's Church
Robert and Owen Street, Penetanguishene
The cornerstone of the present church was laid in 1886; however, due to its enormous size and cost, the church remained unfinished until 1902. It is the first shrine built in memory of the Canadian Martyrs. The style is late Romanesque, and the church is sometimes referred to as "The Cathedral of the North". There are four bells in the tower, the oldest and smallest one dating to 1799 and reputed to have been taken from one to two war ships captured from the Americans, the Tigress or Scorpion. The three larger bells can be heard every day at 8:00 am., noon and 6:00 pm. The smaller bell is rung along with the others on special occasions.
St. James On-The-Lines
223 Church Street
This Anglican Church was constructed on the "lines of communication" between the town and the naval base in 1836. Its intention was to serve as a garrison church as well as for the growing civilian population. The unique centre aisle was built wide enough to allow soldiers to march four abreast.
Angel Gate Bingo
175 Main Street, Penetanguishene
Tel: (705) 549-7462