The Corporation of the Town of Penetanguishene 2022 Municipal Election

CERTIFICATE OF ELECTION RESULTS

Form EL08, Municipal Elections Act, 1996 (s.11(4)3)

I hereby certify that during the municipal election held on Monday October 24, 2022, for the offices listed below, the certified candidates received the votes that follow their respective names.

OFFICE	NAME	TOTAL VOTES
Mayor (elected)	Douglas Rawson	1808
Mayor	Jill M. St. Amant	1114
Deputy Mayor	Brian Cummings	1359
Deputy Mayor (elected)	Dan LaRose	1443
Councillor	James DALZELL	962
Councillor (elected)	Bonita DESROCHES	1362
Councillor	Lindsay DUQUETTE	1057
Councillor (elected)	Doug LEROUX	1670
Councillor	Debbie LEVY	1229
Councillor	Mike MACRAE	570
Councillor	Robert MALFARA	627
Councillor (elected)	Suzanne MARCHAND	1384
Councillor	Michel MAYOTTE	1268
Councillor (elected)	George VADEBONCOEUR	1306
Councillor (elected)	Bill WATERS	1268 *(elected by lot)
Trustee – The Protestant Separate School Board	Lynne COUSENS	ACCLAIMED
Trustee – The Protestant Separate School Board	Greg CRAFTCHICK	ACCLAIMED
Trustee – The Protestant Separate School Board	Elizabeth DESROCHERS	ACCLAIMED
Trustee – The Protestant Separate School Board	Kyle GRAHAM	ACCLAIMED
Trustee – The Protestant Separate School Board	April LEBLANC	ACCLAIMED
Trustee – The Protestant Separate School Board	Catherine SINDALL	ACCLAIMED
Trustee – The Protestant Separate School Board	Lindsay STEWART	ACCLAIMED

Dated October 25, 2022

Stacey Cooper, Clerk Town of Penetanguishene, 10 Robert Street West Penetanguishene, Ontario L9M 2G2 Phone: (705) 549-7453 / Fax: (705) 549-3743 E-mail: scooper@penetanguishene.ca

Eligible Voters: 7450 Ballots Cast: 2943 39.5% Voted





*Supplementary explanation to Tie Vote

On the Monday October 24, 2022, at approximately 8:30 pm in Council Chambers at 10 Robert Street West results were calculated from the election provider. The Auditor performed the results tabulation, and the results included a tie for the position of Councillor. Candidates Michel Mayotte and Bill Waters received a tie vote of 1268 in Penetanguishene's Municipal 2022 Election.

As per the Municipal Elections Act and the Procedures Manual for the 2022 Municipal Election, where there is a tied vote for the election of a candidate to an office and both or all of the candidates cannot be declared elected, the Clerk must hold a recount within 15 days after the declaration of the results of the election. The Clerk directed the Auditor who was in attendance to once again produce the results of the electronic voting system. The Auditor performed the results tabulation through the Scytl voting system and the results remained the same as the first production.

Tied vote

(3) If the recount indicates that two or more candidates who cannot both or all be declared elected to an office have received the same number of votes, the clerk shall choose the successful candidate or candidates by lot. 1996, c. 32, Sched., s. 62 (3). – Municipal Elections Act, 1996, S.O. 1996, c. 32, Sched.

Pursuant to <u>s.62(3)</u> in a case of a tied vote following the recount, the Clerk shall determine the result by conducting a lot. The Clerk shall write the name of each candidate on equal-sized pieces of paper. They are then put in a container as determined by the Clerk. The Clerk shall announce the candidate to be elected as the name is written on the first piece of paper that is drawn out of the container. The paper is pulled from the container and the candidate elected is announced. – Town of Penetanguishene Procedures Manual 2022 Municipal Election.

All Candidates or Scrutineers were invited to attend the closing of the voting system and the following candidates were in attendance: Doug Leroux, Douglas Rawson, Jill M. St. Amant, Suzanne Marchand, and James Dalzell. Michel Mayotte did attend Townhall earlier in the evening but left the location before the results were tallied.

I reviewed the procedure in the case of a tie with those in attendance and proceeded with the selection of one name written on paper from a container. I announced the name of the winner being the name on the paper as "Bill Waters". This process was witnessed by Candidates in attendance (listed above) and the following town staff: Jeff Lees, Kelly Cole, Sarah Marshall, Michele Gillesby, Angel Proulx, Carmen Gignac, and Katie Lesperance.

The unofficial results were posted on the town's website to show that Bill Waters was elected as a result of drawing his name. The purpose of this supplementary note is to provide record of the results and the necessary actions taken to break the tie.

Dated October 25, 2022

Stacey Coopel, Clerk Town of Penetanguishene, 10 Robert Street West Penetanguishene, Ontario L9M 2G2 Phone: (705) 549-7453 / Fax: (705) 549-3743 E-mail: scooper@penetanguishene.ca